Hmmm… this place looks familiar.

I’m not very good at keeping up with blog writing, it seems. I think it’s just a fact of life. I try, I really do, but then there’ll be a barren stretch, ideas will dry up, and the common tugs of everyday life will tear me away from the joy of posting my every passing whim to a faceless public. It happens a lot, but I’ve really outdone myself this time… It’s been almost a year.

Truth is, I really miss it. Not because I enjoy telling stuff to you lot (although it is nice when someone enjoys a post), but simply because I love looking back over everything I’ve written, and remembering was going on in my life (and what God was doing in my life) at the time. Not only that, some of the more in-depth posts were a great way to clear my thinking, and try to make sense of the mess of thoughts bouncing around in my head!

The downside of having a blog, though, is that you start to care far too much about what people think of you. I’ll edit, re-edit, scrap, start-over, and change course all the time when I’m writing, because everything I’m writing goes out to you, and (at least on some level) I want to put on a good front. Not only that, I’ll obsess over how many people are looking at the blog, to the point that I had to get rid of the stats app on WordPress. It’s not good! Paul says in 1 Corinthians 6:12 that he won’t be mastered by anything, and all too often this blog started to master me.

SO. I do want to write more again, but I’m going to lay out some ground rules to try and avoid everything the previous paragraph said. I won’t share them, but they can basically all be summed up in Proverbs 17:28…

Even a fool is thought wise if he keeps silent, and discerning if he holds his tongue.

Basically, if I haven’t got anything good to say, I’m just going to shut up. Let’s see what happens… :P

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

